Congress to beat BJP by thumping margin in Rajsathan Assembly election 2018 predicts India Today Exit Polls 2018

Congress to beat BJP by thumping margin in Rajsathan Assembly election 2018 predicts India Today Exit Polls 2018

Rajasthan is all set to see a Congress government in next assembly, according to the India Today-Axis My India Exit Poll 2018. According to the exit poll, Congress is set to win anything between 119-141 seats out of the total 200.

Congress party with 42 per cent vote share is all set to oust the Vasundhara Raje-led BJP government.

The India Today exit poll has predicted 55-72 seats for the BJP. The party has just managed to get 37 per cent votes, according to the exit poll.

Rajasthan, which has traditionally been a BJP stronghold, has seen rising disenchantment under BJP government led by Vasundhara Raje. This is in contrast to rising popularity Congress leader like Sachin Pilot.

In terms of region-wise vote share, the India Today-Axis My India exit poll has given edge to Congress in the crucial Marwar region with a prediction of 27 seats (41 per cent) as opposed to BJP’s share of 11 seats (35 per cent).

In Dhundhan ( Jaipur), Congress is predicted to win a vote share of 33 (46 per cent) in comparison to BJP’s 11 seats (36 per cent).

Polling for the Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2018 was held today (December 7) across 199 constituencies and is being termed as a key contest between the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress party before the General Elections in 2019.

A total of 2,274 candidates contested in the state assembly elections this year. Polling was held from 8 am in the morning at 51,796 polling stations across the state. Among other parties, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has been predicted to win 3-8 seats, which is roughly 3 per cent of the entire vote share.

What’s at stake?

Winning the state holds value for the parties before the general elections, as it sends 25 MPs to the Lok Sabha. While BJP currently has 23 MPs, Congress only has two in the state and would be looking to make some progress in the state.

The two other parties competing for the prized state are Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). However, past trends show the state always swings between two parties Congress and BJP since 1998. There has been no instance where a party has been able to retain power for two consecutive terms since 1993.

While the BJP would be looking to change the perception this time and repeat its achievement from 1993, the Congress party would be hoping to regain some lost ground in the 200-member Rajasthan Legislative Assembly.

Both the BJP and Congress would be looking to secure 101 seats as it would help them gain a majority. The half way mark is 100.

Key leaders

Vasundhara Raje (Incumbent CM, BJP)

Key leaders from the state include Vasundhara Raje, the incumbent CM who has been representing the ruling party in the state assembly since 2003. She contested from Jhalrapatan constituency in Rajasthan’s Jhalawar district; she has been contesting from the same constituency in the past three state assembly elections.

While there is sense of growing disenchantment in the state against her over a range of issues, she exuded confidence that the BJP will emerge victorious.

Sachin Pilot (Senior Congress leader)

Senior Congress leader Sachin Pilot is another leader who has played a pivotal role for the main opposition party during the fresh elections.

The 41-year-old chief of the state’s Congress unit may be contesting state polls for the first time but emerged as important figure in the run up to the elections. He will be contesting from Rajasthan’s Tonk Constituency.

While he has not fought an assembly election before, Sachin has been an MP and a Union minister in the Manmohan Singh-led UPA government. From the start of the campaigning, he has been viewed as a chief ministerial candidate for the Congress party.

Manvendra Singh (Congress)

While unheard of in the national political circle, the leader is a popular figure in the state of Rajasthan. He recently hopped over from the BJP to the Congress on October 17 and will be contesting the polls from Jhalrapatanl; he will be taking on incumbent chief minister Vasundhara Raje.

Reports suggest that Manvendra has been inducted to the Congress party to appease the Rajputs something that will help the Congress party score some extra brownie points.

Krishna Poonia (Congress), Yoonus Khan (BJP), Gulab Chand Karatia (BJP), Zahida khan (Congress) and Harish Chandra Meena (Congress) and Hanuman Beniwal from the Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLP) are some of the other key leaders contesting in this year’s assembly elections.

Get real-time alerts and all the news on your phone with the all-new India Today app. Download from

  • Andriod App
  • IOS App

Read Full Story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *